Face to the Name

I feel odd posting this before THE GODDESS TEST has even been released, but Melissa Anelli asked about my dream cast for the book. And even though we have two months to go before the release, I figured it might be fun to give you a preview of some of the characters – faces only, of course. No spoilers here.

Let’s start with Henry. Dark, tortured, and mesmerizing, or so the back of the book describes. Who better than…

Ben Barnes?

Just in case you’re not completely convinced…

Really. He’s perfect. And age-appropriate, since Henry is supposed to look like he’s in his twenties.

Next we have James, who’s described as blond, tall, and elephant-eared (and a cute, geeky nerd). He’s hard to figure a face for, but if we’re going mostly literally (minus the ears)…

Mitch Hewer. (Thank you, UK Skins!)

He’s not a perfect fit though, and if we nixed the physical description and went with personality alone…

Darren Criss. A+. If anyone could pull off James, he could.

Now, onto the girls! Kate Winters is the protagonist, and she’s the one I can never picture. She has brown hair, and…yes. Let’s just go with that.

How about…

Troian Bellisario? Or…

Mandy Moore, circa A Walk To Remember?

Ah, well. Picture whomever you’d like! Let’s move on to Ava, who’s blond, beautiful, and has had a mental face from before I started writing the book. Who’s that?

Elisabeth Harnois. I can’t believe she’s almost thirty-two.

I would go on – there are plenty of other characters in the book – but I’ll leave it at this for now! Once the book’s out, we can talk about some of the other characters, but for now, these four are plenty.

Thanks for playing!

About Aimée Carter

THE GODDESS TEST series is in stores now! PAWN, the first book in the Blackcoat Rebellion series, was released November 2013, and CAPTIVE and QUEEN, the sequels, will be available in late 2014 and 2015, all from Harlequin Teen. SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF'S DEN, the first book in a middle grade series with Bloomsbury US/UK, will be released in Fall 2015.

Posted on February 15, 2011, in Fun and Random, The Goddess Test and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Definitely Troian Bellisario!

  2. Troian Bellisario is a great choice, I can see it already… Can’t wait to read Goddess Test!

  3. I am going to re-read The Goddess Test with their faces in mind. Oh, Ben Barnes as Henry is just perfect!

    • Re-read? Oh my gosh, that made my night. Thank you!! ❤ Ben Barnes IS perfect. Though admittedly I don't usually picture faces for my characters, and Henry's never had a solid one in my mind. Just if he did, Ben Barnes would be it. ;D

  4. Despite these characters being your creation… Ben Barnes? No, no, no!!! *shakes head defiantly* Okay, so I may be the only person in the world not on the Ben Barnes fan-train. So many people want him for Dimitri in Vampire Academy aswell, but I just do not see the appeal. Henry was sexier in my head haha.

    I love all your other choices though – Troian, Mitch and Elisabeth in particular. Now all we need is a book-to-movie deal…. you listening Warner Bros? Lionsgate? Summit? 😉

    • I think you’re the first person I’ve met who doesn’t like Ben Barnes! ;D Who would you cast as Henry?

      Haha! Yes, you go make that happen, Brodie. ;D I wish. Oh man. That is so far beyond my wildest dreams, I can’t even tell you.

  5. Yes!!! Ben Barnes, totally!!! He’s wayyyy HOT!
    And I love Mitch Hewer! He’s too cute! Troian Bellisario would look AWESOME as Kate!!!

    By the way, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THE GODDESS TEST!

    P.S. I am now stalking you on Twitter so beware of my excessive use of exclamation points! 😀

    • I am such a huge Ben Barnes fan – he doesn’t get nearly enough love from Hollywood! The more I watch of Skins, the more I love Mitch Hewer as well. And Troian is flat-out gorgeous any way you cut it.

      Thank you SO much for all of your awesomeness and kind words for The Goddess Test! I tried to @ you on Twitter, but the fail whale jumped in and I haven’t seen it come back up yet. I can’t tell you what your enthusiasm and kindness means to me. ;D

  6. Ben Barnes is a popular choice for male leads, I’ve noticed. Julie Kagawa said that’s who she pictured for Ash in THE IRON KING, and Andrea Cremer said that’s who she pictured for Ren in NIGHTSHADE. He has a lot of author love, apparently. Of course, how can he not? He’s so cute 🙂

    • He really is! I don’t know about casting him as a teenager, but for a character in his twenties who fits the description of a guy with long dark hair, he’s pretty much the cream of the crop. There’s another guy too – Thomas McDonell (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2973459/) – who is gorgeous as well and looks great with long hair. He’d make a pretty good (if not somewhat younger-looking) Henry as well.

  7. Sorry to comment but OH MY GOD.
    Ben Barnes is EXACTLY who I picture Henry to be. When I first saw Henry I was trying to put a face to a name and my first thought was ‘Oh, that Dorian Grey guy would hot.’

    D:

  8. Sorry to comment again*

    D:

  9. I think Ben Barnes would be perfect. I can actually picture Henry better now that I read this post. It’s pretty perfect.

  10. OMG!!! I love Ben Barnes! I’m still waiting for The Goddess Test to come out, and if Henry looks like Ben Barnes…*MAD FANGIRL SQUEAL* This made my day!

  11. Oh, god. Elisabeth Harnois is definitely perfect, and for Kate? Troian Bellisario is okay, but she looks a little too old for her. Mandy Moore is a bit more fitted for Kate, but she should have black hair because on the cover of The Goddess Test, it was like that.

    Ben Barnes… uh, he’s… in my opinion, I don’t think he’s exactly good for Henry. And Mitch Hewer is perfect for James! 😀

  12. BEN BARNES!!

    yay ! i can sleep happy now !

  13. Bernadette Hemingway

    I have to agree with Ben Barnes–clean shaven, of course. Though the Goddess Interrupted trailer is great, the guy in it is NOT the Henry I picture.

  14. I would love to play a part in The Goddess Test, I have brown hair and green eyes. I love the book, my favorite.

  15. I always pictured Ava as Amber Heard. And how about Leslie Mann as Diana?

Leave a Reply

