You Are Amazing

This week has been a milestone for The Goddess Test. With a little under two months to go before it hits shelves, not only did Goddess Test pass 1,000 adds on Goodreads, but it also hit the top ten list of most requested galleys on NetGalley.com.

Adds have almost doubled. I gained over a hundred new Twitter followers. Fabulous reviews are coming out.  Things are happening.

And it’s because of you. The book bloggers. The early reviewers. The people who take time out of their busy schedules to read books and put their thoughts into words. The readers who hear about a book and tell their friends. Who tweet and link and add. You.

In late December, thirty people had added Goddess Test on Goodreads. And then a blogger tweeted a picture of the ARC.

Now, two months later, nearly twelve hundred people have added it, and the book doesn’t even come out until April 19th.

I want to gush. I want to hug each and every one of you. Your enthusiasm, your tweets, your blog entries and emails and everything you’ve done – it’s magical what the YA blogging and reading community does for authors. It really, truly is.

If you decide to pick up or request Goddess Test, whether you enjoy it or not, thank you for giving it a chance. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to read it. I won’t pretend it doesn’t hurt like hell to get a negative review, but it would hurt even more if no one read it at all. But because of you, readers know it’s out there, and with a little luck, they’ll give it a chance.

Thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you times infinity. And if anyone ever makes you feel like you don’t make a difference, send them my way and I’ll set them straight.

About Aimée Carter

THE GODDESS TEST series is in stores now! PAWN, the first book in the Blackcoat Rebellion series, was released November 2013, and CAPTIVE and QUEEN, the sequels, will be available in late 2014 and 2015, all from Harlequin Teen. SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF'S DEN, the first book in a middle grade series with Bloomsbury US/UK, will be released in Fall 2015.

Posted on February 26, 2011, in Giving Back, The Goddess Test and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Congratulations, Aimee! That is incredible. By the time The Goddess Test is actually out, you’ll be super famous and partying with the A-list authors. I’m honoured to have met you before you were famous 😀

    There are so many amazing bloggers out there. I’m so glad I got involved in the YA community because I have discovered so many brilliant books, authors and readers that otherwise would have escaped my attention. I found out about The Goddess Test from Kai (Amaterasu Reads) Waiting on Wednesday post! Which I am SO grateful for!

    You deserve everything coming your way, Aimee. You’re so appreciate of your success and insanely talented. You’ve earned your spot on all our ‘OMG THIS IS AUTHOR IS A FREAKING GOD’ lists!

    • Brodie, you’re the one who’s incredible, seriously. I can’t friggin’ believe everything that you and Kai and everyone else has done for this book – it boggles my mind, and I will forever be in your debt. I don’t know about super-famous, but I’ll take successful enough to be able to do this for the rest of my life. ;D That’s all I can possibly ask for.

      The YA community is flat-out amazing. I just can’t believe how supportive everyone is of books they enjoy. Waiting on Wednesday, In My Mailbox, everything – it’s just stunning what you all do for books. You’re all such a huge, important part of what TGT has been through so far, and I really can’t thank you all enough.

      Aw, thank you so much! ;D I’m just ridiculously grateful, seriously. I can’t express that enough.

  2. Well, of course you’d be a big hit. You used to write Hanson fanfics. That’s the OFFICIAL recipe for success, you know. #trufax

  3. That’s a lovely post, Aimée!

    I recently featured The Goddess Test on my blog, and I can tell you that people are very excited to read it! It’s so great that it’s on Netgalley for those early reviews. I’m going to request soon. Looking forward to reading it!

    🙂

  4. Awww… what a great post, Aimee! Thanks so much for that! Often times, I wonder if my little blog can make a difference or not. It’s posts like these that keep me blogging 🙂

    Oh, and I can’t wait to read The Goddess Test!

    • It absolutely makes a difference, and please never forget that! In a few short months, bloggers have completely changed my career, and I really can’t thank you all enough.

      Ooh, I can’t wait to hear what you think! Definitely let me know. ;D

  5. Congratulations! I read “The Goddess Test” and loved it. My review will be coming soon.

    Thank you also for acknowledging book bloggers and twitter users. We are an often maligned group whose impact on book sales is often misunderstood and underrated. Your words as an author mean a lot!

    • Thank you so much!! I’m really looking forward to reading your review. They’re so thoughtful and well-written, and I love your blog.

      Aw, no, thank YOU! Seriously. I don’t understand how anyone can diss bloggers. You guys are really, truly amazing, and like I said, TGT is proof of the power you all have. I think it’s #4 on NetGalley now, and that’s because of you guys. All of the love, the people adding it, everything – every single piece of that is because of bloggers. And I will be forever in the YA blogging community’s debt.

  6. What a lovely post!

    And from what I’ve read so far I can’t imagine why anyone wouldn’t want to read or buy this book!

    Congratulations in advance and I’m so happy for all your advance book success!

  7. Eehee, I’m totally one of those people who requested The Goddess Test from NetGalley. Hopefully Harlequin’ll let me have a crack at it. 🙂

  8. I am so happy that The Goddess Test is getting so much attention! It is a fantastic book! I got it off of NetGalley and I can tell you that I will be recommending it to everyone I know. I will be posting my review of it soon.

    Congratulations!! You totally deserve it and I CANNOT wait for book 2!

    • Thank you so, so much! I can’t believe all of the attention and love it’s getting – it’s like waking up to Christmas every single morning. I loved your review a ridiculous amount, and thank you again for taking the time to read the book and write it up. ;D

  9. I was so, so excited to see your novel up on NetGalley. I’m planning to buy this the moment it hits my local B&N and was excited to get a sneak peek. The only thing that would have made it sweeter was coming a few days earlier so I could have loaded it up to read on the plane to/from Arizona. Hoping to read it next week. This and Starcrossed are my two big mythological WANTS of the spring!

    • Thanks so much, Bonnie! I really hope you enjoy it, and I can’t wait to hear what you think. ;D Thanks again for the support and taking the time to read it!

  10. I just posted a review on my blog. Read your book this week and it was one I couldn’t put down. Fantastic!

  11. I think the success of this book is three pronged:

    1. You made available on NetGalley.com

    2. This is your YA Debut Novel – It qualifies for The Story Siren’s DAC Challenge over 800 bloggers are participating in this challenge.

    3. Its a great book, getting rave reviews so it adds fuel to the fire. More people in the DAC want to read it, more people get it from NetGalley for free. Then bloggers post it on IMM or WOW others see it and it just keeps gaining an audience.

    Congratulations on using the YA blogging market successfully 🙂 for your debut book.

  12. I just finished writing up my review for The Goddess Test and I can’t wait to share my thoughts with everyone.
    When it first went on Netgalley I didn’t request it. Seriously, I have HUNDREDS of books waiting to be read. I really need to be super picky. But I saw everyone talking about it on their blogs, on twitter and on goodreads and I HAD to request it! Well, I’m SO glad I did! I’m super excited to get all my non blogging friends and family to read it as well!

Leave a Reply

