A Shift in Release Dates

We all know publishing is ALWAYS changing, from industry standards to trends to covers to titles to…well, everything. It’s hard to keep up sometimes, and even harder to pinpoint a reason why, but in the end, a publisher does what’s best for the book.

So, with that being said, I have a bit of good news/”bad” news.

The good news is that Masked, the first book in my new dystopian series, will be released in Fall 2012 (as it stands right now, it’s an October 2012 release, which translates into late September). I am SUPER excited about everyone getting to read it – I wrote it right after The Goddess Test, and I’ve been antsy ever since to get it out into the world. I love the characters in this story like nothing else, and I can’t wait to have the opportunity to share their story with you.

The not-so-good news is that the release of Goddess Interrupted has been pushed back to April 2012 (a late March 2012 release). I know, I know, you have to wait another two months, I’m sorry! I have zero control, and I’m eager for you to get the chance to read it too. In this case, however, it was done because the powers that be believe it to be the best scheduling for the sequel, and some great opportunities come along with it. Vague, but bottom line is, this is actually a good thing. A really good thing.

Your comments and tweets and emails all expressing your excitement for the second book are amazing, and it’s tough to wait for something you’re really excited to read. I know how that goes, believe me – I started to read the Harry Potter series in 1998/1999. I’m sorry to put you all through another two months of waiting, but I very much hope it’s worth the wait. And remember, like I said, as frustrating as it might be, this is actually a really, really good thing for the series.

And, because this is publishing, everything is still subject to change.

I owe you an extra scene, and with revisions and the third Goddess Test book out of the way, that will be up for you very, very soon. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your support and enthusiasm, and late March 2012 is only eight and a half months away! Just think of all the terrific books that come out in the meantime.

 

If you missed the reveal of the back of the book for Goddess Interrupted, check it out.

About Aimée Carter

THE GODDESS TEST series is in stores now! PAWN, the first book in the Blackcoat Rebellion series, was released November 2013, and CAPTIVE and QUEEN, the sequels, will be available in late 2014 and 2015, all from Harlequin Teen. SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF'S DEN, the first book in a middle grade series with Bloomsbury US/UK, will be released in Fall 2015.

Posted on June 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Although I was very much looking forward to it, I’m curious to see the promotion that will happen with all of that extra time. I think it’s very much a good thing!

  2. Even though the extra two month wait will slowly kill me, I’m completely sure it’ll be worth the wait. Anticipation is part of the fun, right? I know it was for Harry Potter 🙂 I believe that the people starting it now, when all the books are already out, miss some of what made the experience so amazing.

  3. NO NO NO NO NOOO!!!!!!! 2 months?? 62 days of NO GODDESS INTERUPTED!!! 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦

  4. OMG! My birthday is March 27! It would be the BEST BIRTHDAY PRESENT EVER if Goddess Interrupted came out on my B day(hint hint)

  5. More contests please!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. So, you will have three books coming out on 2012? Masked, and the last two Goddess? Do you know how AMAZING that is????????? Ahhh! I can’t wait!!!!!!

  7. Aimee Carter PLEASE keep writing the blog! It’s been a while…and I check almost Daily!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. I am not a teenager by any stretch of the imagination, but I enjoyed Goddess Test and look forward to Goddess Interrupted.

  9. I guess it’s all in the patience. As my hilarious teacher says – my class loves him, he’s awesome – “Suffer In Silence”. He has several other catch phrases, too.

  10. I am not a teenager by any stretch, but I absolutely loved” The goddess Test” to the point that I have recommended it to everyone young and old. I am a little disappointed that I have to wait till March2012 for the release since everyone was informed it would be released in January. But hopefully we get another well written sequel to the first book.

Leave a Reply

